Czech Anatomical Society

Historical Summary

The Czech Anatomical Society was established on foundation of The Czechoslovak Anatomical Society for the territory of the newly created Czech Republic. The Czechoslovak Anatomical Society was founded in 1950, when it was separated from the Czechoslovak Biological Society, whose roots go back to the time when J. E. Purkinje taught at The Charles University in Prague (1850 to 1869). In 1854 Purkinje founded the first Czech Natural Science Journal „Živa“ (Life). The Biological Society was an association of scientists from different biological fields. When more specialized Czechoslovak Anatomical Society was constituted, the members of its first executive committee were: Prof. F. K. Studnička, Prof. J. Wolf and prof. L. Borovanský of The Charles University, Prague, and Prof. I. Staněk of The Comenius University, Bratislava.

Prof. L. Borovanský was president up to 1965, and was succeeded by Prof. Klika (Prague), Prof. J. Slípka (Pilsen), Prof. P. Petrovický (Prague) and Assoc. Prof. J. Kočová (Pilsen). The Anatomical Society published the independent international journal „Folia Morphologica“, since 1991 under the new name „Functional and Developmental Morphology. This Journal was stopped in 1993 (from financial reasons).

The Czech Anatomical Society is active not only in the field of morphology as a science, but also in anatomy teaching and its application in clinical medicine (establishment of the Clinical Anatomy Section corresponding to the separate Societies for Clinical anatomy in other countries).